${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}

Local: 828-252-4491
Free Consultation: 828-348-6957
Toll Free: 877-882-5964

Fighting for people’s rights with experience that makes a difference.

Begin a Free Initial Consultation

November 2014 Archives

Top types of workplace injuries and how to avoid them

North Carolina workers may be able to take several precautions to prevent workplace injuries. The most common injuries are falls on the same level and falls to lower levels, getting hit by falling objects, overexertion and bodily reaction. All together, these types of injuries result in direct costs of more than $40 billion nationwide.

OSHA policies to protect construction workers on ladders

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration has policies in place to safeguard construction workers who have to use ladders on the job. Its policies are designed to protect workers in North Carolina and around the country from falling from ladders that are positioned unsafely or are being used in unsafe conditions. Construction workers who are at least six feet high on ladders must be protected.

Workers' compensation requirements for employers

The North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act mandates that all employers in the state with at least three employees have workers' compensation insurance. Otherwise, the employers must be self-insured for the purpose of paying employees workers' compensation benefits in the event of workplace accidents. This regulation is applied to all businesses that operate as sole proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability entities and corporations.

Workplace illnesses and workers' compensation

When most people in North Carolina think about workers' compensation, they think of scenarios in which a worker is physically injured on the job through an accident. The state's workers' compensation laws also provide for benefits in situations in which a worker has contracted certain illnesses due to exposure on the job, however.

Can I be paid for my travel under workers' compensation?

North Carolina's workers' compensation laws provide for payment of travel in some circumstances. When a worker is injured at work, if he or she has to travel more than 20 miles round trip for travel in order to receive care, he or she is entitled for mileage reimbursement for the required travel.